“So is the ride for charity?”

This is by far the most common question I’ve been asked since I started up Cycling South America. And it’s a very reasonable one, too; raising money for a good cause is a laudable component of many a challenge and expedition. So it may come as a surprise that at this moment in time my answer is a flat ‘no’.

The reasons for this are two-fold. First off, I don’t want to commit to a charity or charities before I know that funding for the rest of the expedition is firmly in place; essentially I don’t want to make promises I can’t keep. Secondly – and perhaps more importantly – many of the businesses and companies that I’m hoping to attract as sponsors actively avoid fundraising journeys for a whole range of reasons. There are lots of ways to donate to charity and some might argue that cycling an entire continent is not the best way to do it.

Saying that I would like to introduce a charitable element at some point, whether that be before I set off or simply by donating what’s left of the expedition kitty once I’m safely back in the UK. It would be good to know that others will benefit from the trip as much as I will.

About keithruffles

I'm planning to take on the ultimate challenge - to cycle around the entire continent of South America!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

